Music display at the National Library of Scotland

August has become a regular month for a small music display at the National Library of Scotland to coincide with the Edinburgh International Festival. A selection of items from the collections of the many musical works that will be performed over the coming month will be shown. A major theme this year is music related to the literary works of English poet and playwright William Shakespeare who died 300 years ago. On display is a score of Roméo et Juliette by French composer Hector Berlioz, one of only a few corrected autograph proofs that still exist.

Shown here is page 10 of Roméo et Juliette by Hector Berlioz
Hector Berlioz. Roméo et Juliette. Symphonie dramatique…composée d’après la tragédie de Shakespeare. Paris: Brandus et Cie. [1847].
NLS Shelfmark: HB.2/31
Page 10 of the autograph proof shown.
The music display which can be seen outside the entrance to the General Reading Room opens 4 August 2016 and runs until 31 August 2016. No library card is required.

For enquiries email

Further works shown in the display include a score of Wagner’s Das Rheingold, the opera opening his famous Ring cycle,

Mendelssohn’s third symphony, the ‘Scottish’, inspired by his visit to Scotland in 1829,

Rachmaninov’s well-known second piano concerto,

several chamber music works as well as a selection of jazz and musical cabaret.